Chapter History

Lake Oconee Area Alumnae Chapter was conceived in the minds of five (5) sorors who recognized a need to bring women who were already Deltas back into the sisterhood to serve a rural area. Spearheaded by Orian Motley, the committee consisted of Barbara Fuqua, Janice Gallimore, Linda Williams, and Felicia Randolph-Atwater. This predominately African-American community was in desperate need of positive role models. These ladies canvassed the Lake Oconee area seeking Sorors and found an outpouring of acceptance from Delta’s anxious to become active and commit to the establishment of a new chapter. The committee assumed the task of organizing sorors in order to form an interest group.

Month after month, the committee grew in numbers. After three (3) years of meetings, the interest group satisfied the requirement of the national headquarters to chartered a new chapter. Dedicated to Delta Sigma Theta’s traditions of Sisterhood, Scholarship and Service, on April 23, 2007, twenty-two (22) sorors were chartered to carry on the legacy of our founders in the service area of Greene, Morgan, and Taliaferro counties.

Charter Members

  • Melissa L George Bailey
  • Ann Ballard
  • Katrina Breeding
  • Mary L Breeding
  • Sallie Carpenter – Honorary
  • Barbara Collier
  • Rebecca Dunn-Lawrence
  • Tia Evans
  • Khalila D. Fordham
  • Barbara Fuqua
  • Janice Gallimore
  • Joyce Harrison
  • Gerri Heard
  • Karen Hill
  • Dana Jackson
  • Henrietta Jackson
  • Orian Motley
  • Felicia Randolph-Atwater
  • Joyce Rhodes
  • Karen Robertson
  • Candy Williams
  • Linda Williams
  • Shirley Wynn

Chapter Presidents

  • Michelle Rucker: 2017 – present
  • Melissa L George Bailey: 2013 – 2017
  • Karen B. Robertson: 2009 – 2013
  • Orian Motley: 2007 – 2009